I’m not sure where this is going to go, but here goes anyway.

I am, technologically challenged in many ways.  What most people would say is that I know just enough about technology to be dangerous.  Let me explain the title of this — what I think is another entry to my blog. I’m new to WordPress, and I am trying to figure it all out. I haven’t quite gotten the hang of where stuff goes when you actually publish it. If any of my friends or students are WordPress experts, I would appreciate some help.

My goal in writing this blog is to … well … I don’t think I can sum it up in a couple of words.  I suffer from undiagnosed ADD and diagnosed bipolar II and usually my brain and my thoughts are all over the place. Naturally, my blog is going to be all over the place.  But right now the place I want to be in my blog is publicity for my new book coming out in April.

It’s called Fall of Knight, and it is a very gritty novel about teenage mental illness and the horrors of bullying, both of which I know something about. Many stigmas are attached to mental illness, and if a mentally ill person is bullied, it just gets worse — many times to the point where the teen does not feel like he or or she can or should go on living.  I had a friend who killed himself.  I’ve known of students who killed themselves.  When are we going to do something about the issues that cause these tragedies?

Believe me when I tell you that a true mentally ill person cannot pull himself up by his or her own bootstraps or just get over it. Outside intervention is critical. Many times we just want to turn our heads and ignore issues of mental illness and bullying or we want to shove them under a rug.  One of these days, I will let you know about how my school refused to allow the drama teacher and me to put on a play about bullying because they were afraid of the possible “ramifications.”  I’ll leave that story for another day.

Keep up with me.  Follow me here and on Facebook and Twitter.  Just check out my contact page. Also, I would appreciate it if you bought my book when it came out. Until later.

Leave a Reply

