Little Things

I once wrote a really bad poem about the importance of little things.  My heart was in the write (pun intended) place but my poetic talent was not. Today was one of those days when I enjoyed the little things. I don’t get many days when I can do this, but when I do I enjoy them.

This morning, it started with a three-hour journaling sessions.  All the while, I had my music playing.  I was alone and thinking through my “inking” or writing which I used to do all the time but haven’t seemed to have had enough time to do lately. (Is that even a grammatical sentence?) I decided that I would stay off the internet and just write in my journal because writing is one way I sort through things.  The main issue I wanted to sort through today was my writing, so I spent three hours writing about my writing.  Mainly, it was about what I wanted to do in my future with my writing. I am 56; I don’t know how many good writing years I have left. I made some decisions about what I would try doing in the next few years.  It was good for me to sort things out.

The next part wasn’t so fun, but it was something that needed to be done.  I spent a few hours grading some essays. None of them stood out in particular.  They were good, but not great. When I get a bunch of fairly ordinary papers, I get in a dull kind of stupor and I wonder how effective my grading is.  I tend to grade too low or too high when that happens, but today, I probably went the too high of a grade route. Now, you may ask why that little thing is so important.  Something doesn’t have to be fun to be important.  The thing is, I got in the grade giving rhythm and was able to get quite a bit of work done.  This is great because the school year is drawing near to its end, and I don’t want to be backed up with school work when it gets here.

I enjoyed listening to my music too.  I had my iPad playing on shuffle through all of my music and I have gigs and gigs of music.  I love music. Some of the songs I heard included Pink Floyd, Hank Williams Senior, Imagine Dragons, Keith Urban, Bob Seger and a whole host of other bands and singers.  It reminded me of how much I have enjoyed all the different kinds of music I listen to and appreciate because I did not limit myself to one genre as I grew up.  Those people who say, “I will only listen to hip hop or country or rock or metal or R & B are really missing out.  There is great music in every genre.

And I also half watched a Cardinal ball game.  The Cardinals have the best record in baseball right now.  Today, they had a walk-off win in the 11th inning against the Pirates.  It was the second day in a row they have won in walk-off fashion. Baseball to me is more than just a sport.  It’s family; it’s tradition; it’s conversation when there is little else to talk about.

We also got a new bedroom suite today. It is gorgeous.  We have had the same set for years.  The new one looks wonderful in our room.  I can’t wait to sleep on the new mattress tonight. It’s the little things.

I think right now I am going to enjoy another one of the little things: reading a book.  I’m not sure which one yet, but it will probably be a young adult novel because I like them.  I also have a William Faulkner novel I’d like to read again. We’ll see.  It’s a day for me to do any darn little thing I want to do.

Leave a Reply

