Just thinking

I usually think best by writing. I have two blogs. My posts aren’t widely read, and I’m sure this one won’t be other. However, I’m not going to quit writing just because people don’t read what I write. I’m just not very interesting really, and I can live with that. I also have two journals. One is my everyday, ordinary journal which I use for most of my postings, but then I have a password protected journal that I keep on my computer.  I reserve this one for rants. I don’t usually rant online or in my blog. Perhaps that’s why they aren’t interesting.

I find myself as a 58 year old retired former teacher, who still teaches a couple of classes just to stay out of trouble. I always dreamed I was destined to be a writer. Well, I guess I am a writer, but I wanted to be a more financially successful one. I know; writers shouldn’t write for money, but I am the type person who constantly needs to be reassured that I’m all right.  I bet you hate people like that. I

I’ve had a successful teaching career but not a successful writing career. That just bugs the crap out of me. I see being paid for my writing as an affirmation that I am a good writer. Really though, I’m not a good writer. Now don’t get me wrong; I have written some good stuff in my life, but I’ve never really had the patience to build my career in an organized, developed method. Partly because I am bipolar and possibly ADD, I have jumped from one writing project to another in that elusive search for the holy grail of writing success.

I’ve written plays, poetry, short stories, articles, educational material, and just about every kind of genre fiction you can imagine, including romance. And then there was the time — well, actually that time hasn’t yet passed — when I wanted to be a screenwriter. Even though I’m hoping I don’t die tomorrow, I do have to admit that I don’t have as much time to establish my career as I once did.

I read an article the other day that it is foolish to try to keep writing new projects all the time if you have not sufficiently revised old projects. It went on to say that the important thing is to revise what you’ve already written to make it the best you can be.  Patience has never been my strong point, and I’m not much of a reviser. I know of people who rewrite and rewrite and never get anything finished.  I’m just the opposite because I don’t rewrite enough.

At any rate, I’ve decided to get out some of my old work that might be salvageable and try to revise it into something publishable. I thought I would begin with Fall of Knight. I’m thinking of making two major changed to it. One, I want to leave out the murder plot, and two, I want to have a revolving narrator like so many YA books do. I’m going to have individual chapters with Ella’s viewpoint, Dee’s viewpoint, and Dean’s viewpoint, all building up to a similar conclusion the original had.

I’m also going to change it by having Roger and Ella’s mother dead and them living with their father. I like the revolving viewpoint thing, and I think simplifying the plot will make it more attractive to agents and publishers. I don’t know if it will work, but I guess it’s worth a try. My next step is to plot out the scenes. I think I’m going to start with the last one and work my way back to the beginning. I won’t write it that way, but I think I can plan it better that way.

I have several other works that I can revise also. Instead of wasting all my time trying to come up with new ideas, I’m going to do my best to make my old ideas more publishable.

Walt Michaels: new book in Amazon

Leave a Reply

