Don’t settle…

#crossbytes

Don’t just discover yourself; discover who you ought to be.

“I would settle for” … these are dangerous words. I don’t think we should ever really settle for anything that’s very important to you. I mean if you want a steak and you settle for a burger that’s one thing, but if you want to settle on life — just get by — that’s another thing.

In college, I discovered something I loved to do. I had a minor in communications and I got involved in our campus broadcasting program, including video and radio production. Now, keep in mind this was in 1978 before the huge boom in technology. I really wanted to change my major, but I let someone talk me out of it.  The circumstances were not pleasant ones, so I will not go into them on this blog. I settled for teaching.  I don’t regret my decision because I have loved and still love teaching, but I see the broadcasting industry and the boom in networks and streaming and all that and I think my gosh, I was in on the bottom floor and I walked out the door. Due to the circumstances at the time, I doubt I could change my mind if I went back and had the chance to do it over.

Years later, I still catch myself settling for less. It’s not that my life has been bad at all. I’ve had a great life, with a wonderful wife and daughter, and now a grand daughter whom I absolutely adore. I get misty just thinking about her. It is other things that are important to me. I have settled more in my writing than in any other area.  Since this is a writer’s blog, I do want to spend a little time on discussing writing.

I think I’m a good writer, but I’m not a successful one, not really, because I settle on less than my best. I chase fads and try to write what I think will sell, not what I love to write. I have suspended most of my writing except for this blog because I want to figure out what is important to me in my writing. I don’t want to settle anymore even if I never try to publish another word.

So, I’m telling you, “Don’t settle for less than your best.”  If you do, you will regret it, the rest of your life. I’m telling you, “Don’t settle for less than what you really want to do.” At least make the effort to reach your goals first. If it doesn’t work out and it might not, then you might have to rethink.  That’s okay too.

This morning’s been a little rough for a couple reasons, so I guess I’m just going to sign off. I want to remind you that you can get paperback copies of Deliver Us from Evil and Walt Michaels Is a Weenie on Amazon. You might have to do a little searching, but you should be able to get to it. If you buy paper back copies of the books, you can also get the kindle.  Deliver Us from Evil would only be 99 cents and Walt Michaels free.

I hope everyone can find out who they ought to be. Don’t ever stop looking.

Leave a Reply

