Update on Fall of Knight and other Misc.

Many of you know that I am revising Fall of Knight in an attempt to make it more palatable to a publisher or agent.  I am 65 pages into that revision, and I’m thinking that the finished draft will be more than 300 pages. What I’m doing is using the newest old draft and I’m going through it and making changes directly into the older draft. When I have a new scene, I just type it into the place where it should go. I’m finding that the revision is going much faster this way. Right now, I have over 77,000 words, and I’m thinking that the final revision will be around 80000. I’ll be taking out some scenes and adding others.  When I finish, it will be a much stronger novel.

One of the things I’m doing is simplifying the plot somewhat. It’s a criticism I’ve gotten before — that my plot, especially for a YA novel — tries to tackle too many issues.  So I have pretty much limited the issues in this one to bullying and mental illness. I took the time to plan the entire novel out, so I know where it is going and how I am going to get there. It is fun to me to see how the different plot lines are going to fall together. Maybe I should have tried this outlining stuff a long time ago.

One thing I am doing which I will tell you about is that I am alternating the viewpoint between Dean and his twin Dee because the story is just as much about her as it is him. I want to more fully develop their complex and at times contradictory relationship. I am not going to tell you about the plot changes except that this first book is not going to focus on any murders.  Maybe the second one if I can get the first one sold.  If I can’t sell the first one, I am going to abandon the project altogether.

I am also letting an idea for a screenplay stew in my brain.  I have a basic outline for it. It will be a low-budget horror film, which are always in high demand.  The trick is coming up with a creative twist and a new way of doing horror fiction, a way that hasn’t been done to death a million times before. I think I have a pretty good idea of how it will go, but I have to let my subconscious work on it.

I am quite thrilled to report that my new bipolar cocktail (combination of meds)  that I’m taking is still working extremely well. My creativity has come back to me.  My personality and sense of humor and the positive attitude I used to have are coming back.  At the moment I feel great. Although I have done okay for the last few years, I can honestly say that I haven’t felt as good as I do now for a dozen years or more. I truly like my new doctor.

Well, I think my book sales are all but dead.  I’m not going to attempt any more self publishing.  It was an idea I wanted to try because I had a couple books that were in kind of a niche market, but apparently they aren’t interesting enough for anyone to want to buy them, so I’ll just give them a couple more months and probably remove the project from Amazon.

I did try another thing, something new I have never really done before. I wrote a pilot episode for a sci/fi and fantasy drama series based on Lancelot, and I submitted it to Amazon studios the last part of January. They have been evaluating it,  and they have 90 days to decide if they want anything to do with it or not. I know my odds of getting it accepted there are not in my favor, but it’s free, and I thought I’d give it a shot.

I guess that’s it for now. I’ll write again when I have something interesting to say.

 

Leave a Reply

