We Are All Searching for Something

: The times when we are most unsure about what we seek are the times we must search the hardest.

I haven’t written much in here lately because A. my life has been boring  and B. I have been too busy. Now, these may seem contradictory, but just because some tasks have kept me busy does not mean they are exciting.

The quote above is very meaningful for me and not just because I made it up. Before I was diagnosed as bipolar I went through several jobs:  teaching, selling radio advertising, working as a radio DJ, writing for a local newspaper, and serving as a case worker at a boys’ residential care facility.  When you are going through cycles of depression and mania, you can never be satisfied for more than a little while.  I drove my wife crazy; I don’t know how many times we moved the first ten years of our marriage.

Around 1990 or 91, I received my diagnosis and put on medications. I got my old teaching job and I retired from teaching 22 years later.  Yes, believe me when  I tell you that any mental illness can cause a person to lose interest in any aspect of his/her life.

So, it is imperative that we keep searching if we are not satisfied with what we are or what we are doing.  In fact, this the time to try our hardest. Don’t settle; that’s the best piece of advice I can give you. I know people who despise their work, but won’t take the chance to look at alternatives simply because they don’t want to go from the familiar to the unfamiliar.

That’s enough of my preaching for now.

I have sold a couple books lately so I am going to leave my books in Amazon for a little bit longer. I will pull them later in April I’m thinking. In the meantime, I need to do some editorial work on the YA novel I’ve revised.  It is the longest work I’ve ever done coming in at 96,000 words. I am also outlining a low-budget horror script I want to write.

I have decided that even if I never publish another piece that I am going to continue writing. I can’t imagine not doing it.

If any of you know of a good treatment for insomnia, please email me or answer in the comment section. I have tried melatonin, various sleeping pills and anti-depressants, but I have had little look.  I might sleep one night and not sleep for two.

Well, I’ve rattled on enough.  Please follow me and comment on anything.

 

 

Leave a Reply

