Tidbits

I recently read that you need to write in your blog more often than I have been if you expect to get people to read it. I don’t really write unless I feel as if I have something people really might want to read, but I guess that strategy is not the best one. So, this blog will be a mixture of several different things.

First, in case you have forgotten, this is the link where you can find links to purchase my screenplay. It hasn’t been selling well, but I didn’t risk anything by publishing it. Honestly, I didn’t know how it would do.

links to buy Light at the End

I have also finished a little over half of a horror screenplay that I’ve been working on. It’s called More Things in Heaven and Earth. I have done my best to make it interesting and low-budget.

I have also experimented with writing a verse fiction book — probably in the YA genre. It’s not something like Ellen Hopkins writes. It has more of a supernatural element to it. The book starts when a girl finds an amulet that allows her to read minds.

In case anyone is interested here is the first page.

The Eye Within
Chapter 1
Knick knacks
of plastic, metal, and steel,
stretched out clothes
spread out on tables;
Books and dvds
telling everyone’s story but
my own.
One man’s junk —
It’s all junk,
no treasure that I can see.
The community rummage sale.
As I float through
the booths,
no one notices.
I am flotsam
broken from the shore
looking for something that
might anchor me.

My narrator is a teenage girl who feels alone even when in a crowd. I have been there, and I think everyone has. I’ve never been a social butterfly; in fact, I’d say that I’m a little socially awkward. How comfortable I feel depends on the social gathering, of course, but generally I’m kind of a wall flower. I’m not really funny, and I’m not a brilliant conversationalist either. The only thing that keeps me from being a totally inept conversationalist is that I do know how to ask the kinds of questions that get people talking about themselves, and I think that’s pretty much the secret to making conversation anyway.

My spring classes are over for the most part with all that I have left to do is to grade a couple of essays and send in final grades.  This summer will be a lot less stressful than others have been. Last year we moved and that’s always stressful. We have settled in nicely, and I like where we are. However, I always get restless at different times of the year.  My birthday is in July, and that’s one time I get restless, but the worst time of all is the fall. I don’t know if it’s the association with death that the fall and winter have, but I want to change everything during these times of the year. Fortunately, I have a wife who can reign me in when I start feeling that way. (The right combination of meds also helps.)

I am watching the Cardinals and the Cubs as I type this. The Cardinals are ahead of the Cubs in the division – in fact, they are in first place by a game and a half I think. Right now they are ahead 2-0 in the game thanks to a Molina home run. I don’t think the Cardinals can hang on to the division lead because I believe the Cubs will shake off this early season lethargy and go on a tear. They are so deep as a team that for the next few years, the Cubs are going to be the cream of the crop in the division. The Cardinals can continue to get into the playoffs I believe, and once they get in the playoffs, anything can happen.

Yesterday, we celebrated my mother-in-law’s 90th birthday with a really nice party. Several friends and family stopped by the church to say hello. I guess, it was kind of a mother’s day celebration also. All in all, it was a very nice time.

The one thing that I want to do this summer which I have neglected for a long time is just reading whatever I want for enjoyment. I have a couple of books I have not been able to read for a variety of reasons, but that will soon change.  If I’m going to be a good writer, I need to read more than I do. Sometimes, it’s hard for me to focus, and sometimes, I just have too much going on or to many things distracting me. I distract often and easily.

With that, I’m going to turn my attention back to the ball game. It’s already the third inning.

Leave a Reply

