Just thinking

My birthday was July 3. Now, I don’t want to tell you my age; let’s just suffice to say that I don’t have much time left in the 50’s. I usually spend a lot of time reflecting on my life about this time. I think about a lot of things including my future, which, I know, is getting smaller and smaller with each passing year. When I was a kid, I used to think how terribly old I would be when the year 2000 kicked in. Well, it’s kicked in, and the years have kicked me, but I’m still standing — like that classic rock song.

I always think about my writing and just how much longer I will keep doing it. I had just about given up the idea of screenwriting, but I am going to wait on that for a little while anyway.  I just might be getting a break there. (Finally) I am going to try a couple more things with it if this one break doesn’t work out, and then, no more. My verse novel is going well, and I’ve enjoyed writing on it though I haven’t written much lately. My dad’s birthday is the second and mine is the third so we have been partying for a few days. I’ll be busy for the next week or two also.

One of the things I have really enjoyed this summer is reading.  I haven’t really read much actually.  This summer I just decided I would. One of the genres I’ve come to love is the verse novel.  Most are written for YA readers, and most are teen problem type books, which I enjoy reading, but I want what I write to be a bit different.

Not much else to say really. I am not going to get into anything lengthy. I just thought it was probably time to write.  Maybe I’ll have some good news soon. I’ll let you know.

Leave a Reply

